Your Progress

  • 0 Incorrect (8 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
 
 
 
 
 
Ask DMV Genie AI
new
Back to Program Home

Free Mississippi DPS Permit Practice Test (MS)

  • Perfect for learner’s permit, driver’s license, and Senior Refresher Test
  • Based on official Mississippi 2024 Driver's manual
  • Updated for July 2024
Verified by Steven Litvintchouk, M.S., Chief Educational Researcher, Member of ACES. See our detailed commitment to accuracy and quality in our practice tests.

About this test

6 min to complete
Available in EN, ES, RU

This Mississippi DPS practice test has just been updated for July 2024 and covers 40 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 MS Driver Handbook. In order to receive your Mississippi learner’s permit or driver’s license, you will need to meet certain requirements, such as passing a 30 multiple-choice question written knowledge test. The knowledge test is based on the latest information in the 2024 Mississippi Driver’s Manual, and you must answer at least 24 questions correctly to receive the necessary 80% passing score. You may apply for a learner’s permit if you are 14 years or older and meet other qualifications, such as passing a vision test and providing your birth certificate, social security card, proof of school enrollment, notarized signatures of your parents or guardians, and if you are under 15, a driver education form (DE-7). If you are an applicant who is 15 or 16 years old, you are not required to provide form DE-7, but you will have to hold onto your permit for a minimum of six months before you can take your road skills test. If you are a 17-year-old applicant, you can take your road skills test immediately after passing the written knowledge test.

[faq]

Mississippi Learner’s Permit Test FAQs in 2024

How many questions are on the permit test?

The Mississippi permit test consists of 30 questions. You must correctly answer at least 24 questions to pass.

What are the requirements to obtain a learner’s permit?

To get a learner’s permit in Mississippi, you must be at least 15 years old, provide proof of identity and residency, pass a vision test, and complete a written knowledge test on traffic laws, road signs, and driving safety.

What should I study for the permit test?

To prepare for the Mississippi permit test, study the Mississippi Driver’s Manual thoroughly, focusing on road rules, traffic signs, and safe driving practices. Taking practice tests can also be helpful.

Am I allowed to drive alone with a permit?

No, in Mississippi, you are not allowed to drive alone with a learner’s permit. You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and seated in the front passenger seat.

Can I get a driver’s license at 20 without a prior permit?

In Mississippi, individuals aged 20 and older can apply for a driver’s license without previously holding a learner’s permit. However, they must still pass the written knowledge test, a road skills test, and a vision test.

[/faq]

What to expect on the actual MS DPS exam

30

questions

24

correct answers to pass

80

passing score

15

minimum age to apply

Your trusted source for driver education

Experience the Driving-Tests difference
Since our foundation in 2010, Driving-Tests.org has led the way in online driver's education, with over a decade of experience. Our dedicated experts, bringing together more than 50 years of collective expertise, have established us as the largest non-governmental organization in the U.S. solely focused on driver education. We go beyond the official manuals, offering unique interactive experiences and support like audio guides and an AI Assistant, to cater to different learning styles and needs.
Helping hundreds of thousands to ace their tests, our resources have earned a 4.7-star rating from over 14,500 reviews. Our goal is to make your path to becoming a confident driver as straightforward and effective as possible.

List of questions (classic view)

  1. When your vehicle is following another vehicle, you should leave at least _________ between the vehicles for every ten miles per hour of speed.
  2. If you are using arm signals, be sure to signal continuously for at least ________ before you slow down, turn, stop, or change lanes.
  3. You may pass a vehicle on the right in which of the following situations?
  4. What does this sign mean?
  5. If you are driving on a road with three or more lanes in your direction, you must stay _________ except when passing another vehicle.
  6. When a school bus is stopped with flashing red lights or an extended stop sign, you must _________, no matter which direction you are traveling in.
  7. If you meet a vehicle at night with bright or blinding headlights, what should you do?
  8. What does this sign mean?
  9. According to Mississippi law, you must dim your headlights when you are within _________ of an oncoming vehicle.
  10. You must stop within _________ of the nearest rail at a railroad crossing when you see a lowered crossing gate, a flashing electric signal, a posted STOP sign, a flag person giving you a signal, or a rapidly approaching train.
  11. Which of the following statements about turning at intersections is NOT correct?
  12. What does this sign mean?
  13. What does a pennant-shaped sign indicate?
  14. A double solid white line
  15. While driving a car equipped with airbags, do not place your hands on the steering wheel at __________ positions.
  16. What does this sign mean?
  17. When there is water on the roadway, you must reduce your speed to avoid
  18. If your vehicle gets a flat tire or has a blowout, you should
  19. In cities and towns, unless you are otherwise directed by law enforcement officers, parallel park your vehicle within ________ of the curb.
  20. What does this sign mean?
  21. The legal speed limit on rural interstates is
  22. To exit from an interstate highway, move into _________ at least one-quarter mile from your exit.
  23. At night, when following a vehicle within 500 feet, you must
  24. When you encounter this sign, you must
  25. If you double your speed on a highway, your braking distance increases by
  26. Drivers who are at least 21 years of age, will be considered under the influence of intoxicating liquor if their blood alcohol content (BAC) registers
  27. When waiting to make a left turn at an intersection,
  28. What does this sign indicate?
  29. A two-headed arrow with one head pointing straight ahead and the other pointing to the left means that
  30. If you miss your exit on an interstate highway, do NOT
  31. Which of the following are the four main types of interstate interchanges?
  32. What does this sign mean?
  33. In Mississippi, your liability insurance coverage for property damage must be at least ________ per accident.
  34. A red arrow signal indicates that
  35. If you are driving slower than other traffic on an interstate, you should use the
  36. What does this sign mean?
  37. If you approach an intersection with a steady yellow light, you must
  38. When a solid line is on your side of the center dash stripe, you must
  39. In which of the following places are you allowed to park?
  40. What does this sign indicate?